Yuko Mabuchi Trio – Yuko Mabuchi Trio {Yarlung Records}_24bit96kHz

Yuko Mabuchi Trio – Yuko Mabuchi Trio {Yarlung Records}_24bit96kHz

Standards, Piano Trio

24bit/96kHz, FLAC tracks, Front cover + digital booklet

1,09 GB.

Review from Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound;

If the eponymous debut album by the Yuko Mabuchi Trio can be seen as a coming out party, it s hard to imagine the musicians squeezing anything more out of the event. The nearly hour-long set includes some well-known jazz standards, including a gorgeous On Green Dolphin Street and an exuberant romp through Sonny Rollins St. Thomas.

During a solo piano medley, Mabuchi s reconstruction of Take the A Train displays a fertile imagination and a confident left hand. A sly reading of Sara Bareilles Seriously shows Mabuchi s ability to spot a pop song that translates nicely into the jazz idiom.

Her interpretive skills also surface on a composition by TAS music reviewer Mark Lehman, Waltz Noir ; here the trio uses a classical composition as a launch pad for some highly evocative noir jazz. If Mabuchi s playing can be described as tasteful, economical, and lyrical, it should also be noted that her rapid single-note runs are impeccably executed.

The performances benefit from an exceptionally realistic recording that stands out for its in-the-room ambience and tonal clarity. So far this year I ve heard dozens of recordings by piano trios, and Yuko Mabuchi Trio stands up against any of them.

01. What is this thing Called Love (7:32)
02. Valse Noire (5:10)
03. On Green Dolphin Street (7:20)
04. Seriously (8:46)
05. Medley: All the things You Are / Take the “A” Train / Satin Doll (8:30)
06. Japanese Medley: Hazy Moon / Cherry Blossom / Look at the Sky (11:17)
07. Sona’s Song (4:19)
08. St. Thomas (6:16)

Yuko Mabuchi – piano
Del Atkins – bass
Bobby Breton – drums

Producer: Bob Attiyeh
Recording Engineers: Bob Attiyeh and Arian Jansen, stereo analog tape and DSD; Tom Caulfield, 5 Channel Surround Sound

Associate Producer: Billy Mitchell
Steinway Technician: Yinuo Xu
Microphone Technician: David Bock
Vacuum Tube Microphones: Ancona Audio & Bock Audio
Double Bass Luthier: Elliot Midwood
Mastering Engineers: Steve Hoffman & Bob Attiyeh

Executive Producers: Randy Bellous, Claude Cellier
Layout: Eron Mucklerov
Cooper Bates Photography

2017, Yarlung Records, 8721 Santa Monica Boulevard 111, Los Angeles, California 90069 USA

—–Test the Quality: Track 08. St. Thomas

—–Download the album: How to?