Oscar Peterson – Verve Jazz Masters#16 {Verve}

Oscar Peterson – Verve Jazz Masters#16 {Verve}

Mainstream, Piano

CD, EAC rip, AccurateRip, FLAC tracks, Full Artwork

348 MB.

AllMusic Review by Michael G. Nastos

Vol. 16 of the Verve Jazz Masters series features pianist Oscar Peterson, who recorded prolifically for them from his start in the early ’50s up to the early ’70s. A single CD could never do Peterson justice, but this one, featuring 15 solid tracks, is evenly balanced between trio and guitar-accented small ensembles, with three big-band tracks added in. The hottest numbers are “Woody ‘n You,” his original (one of only three of his compositions) “Evrev,” and “The Honeydripper.”

The jazz orchestras nearly consume Peterson during “West Coast Blues,” “O.P.,” and the stringy “Someday My Prince Will Come.” No matter; it’s the brilliant voice that listeners admire and are awed by that always shines through, and even though his discography for Verve is gigantic, this remains a good place to start, especially for the student or novice to Peterson’s genius.

01. Night Train (4:52)
02. Woody ‘n’ You (3:51)
03. Willow Weep for Me (3:22)
04. Younger than Springtime (5:30)
05. West Coast Blues (4:06)
06. Love for Sale (3:30)
07. Noreen’s Nocturne (5:26)
08. O. P. (2:55)
09. Blues Etude (5:22)
10. Gal in Calico (5:57)
11. D & E (5:13)
12. Bossa Beguine (3:58)
13. Evrev (4:27)
14. Honey Dripper (2:26)
15. Someday My Prince Will Come (2:52)

Oscar Peterson plays piano on all tracks, accompanied by:

Ray Brown – bass
Sam Jones – bass
Ed Thigpen – drums
Louis Hayes – drums
Barney Kessel – guitar
Herb Ellis – guitar

Ernie Wilkins’ Orchestra
Garcia’s Orchestra
Nelson Riddle’s Orchestra

Original recordings produced by Norman Granz, Fred Burkhardt, Jim Davis, and Richard S. Sherman

Supervised by Michael Lang
Selected and sequenced by David Dunn
Mastered by Andrew Nicholas at PolyGram Studios
Notes edited by Peter Pullman
Additional production assistance by Aric Lach Morrison and Jon Schapiro
Vault research by Coleman Brice and Fernando Dos Santos
Art directed by Sheryl Lutz-Brown
Art designed by Christina Lage and Etsuko Iseki
Design coordinated by Suzanne Bender
Photographs by Herman Leonard
Liner notes by David Dunn

This compilation;
1993 PolyGram Records, Inc.

—–Test the Quality: Track 12. Bossa Beguine

—–Download the album: How to?