Nicholas Payton – Gumbo Nouveau {Verve}

Nicholas Payton – Gumbo Nouveau {Verve}

Contemporary Jazz, New Orleans Jazz, Trumpet

CD, EAC rip, AccurateRip, FLAC tracks, Full Artwork

375 MB.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

Only 22 at the time of this CD, Nicholas Payton had already quickly developed into a major trumpeter. Possessing a fat tone that is sometimes reminiscent of Freddie Hubbard, by the mid-’90s Payton had become New Orleans’ latest significant contribution to jazz.

On his second Verve release, Payton interprets and modernizes ten songs associated with his hometown and/or Louis Armstrong. Fortunately, Payton generally retains the flavor and joy of the original versions, even while he transforms much of the music into hard bop.

To cite a few examples, “Whoopin’ Blues” has parade rhythms, send-offs worthy of Lionel Hampton, and boppish solos, “Way Down Yonder in New Orleans” is taken as a slow and lightly swinging ballad, and “I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues” is turned into a jazz waltz. “Li’l Liza Jane” becomes a largely unrecognizable hard bop romp and this version of “When the Saints Go Marching In” is a bit melancholy, but “Wild Man Blues” is a real tour de force for the trumpeter and the duet between Payton and pianist Anthony Wonsey on “Weather Bird” has the leader liberally quoting from Louis Armstrong’s classic version.

Throughout the date, Payton is the lead voice, pianist Wonsey is the main supporting player, and there are occasional solos from altoist Jesse Davis and tenor saxophonist Tim Warfield. New Orleans jazz purists may not care for all of the updating, but the overall results are fresh and quite likable. Recommended.

01. Whoopin’ Blues (5:58)
02. When the Saints Go Marching In (6:24)
03. Wild Man Blues (4:10)
04. After You’ve Gone (6:32)
05. Way Down Yonder in New Orleans (6:53)
06. Down in Honky Tonk Town (4:02)
07. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues (5:32)
08. Li’l Liza Jane (6:02)
09. Weather Bird (3:35)
10. St. James Infirmary (7:51)

Nicholas Payton – trumpet
Jesse Davis – alto saxophone
Tim Warfield – tenor saxophone
Anthony Wonsey – piano
Reuben Rogers – bass
Adonis Rose – drums

Produced and arranged by Nicholas Payton
Executive Producer: Richard Seidel
Recorded by James Nichols
Recorded November 28-30, 1995 at Power Station, NYC
Assistant Engineer: Bachara Lipke

Mixed at Manhattan Center Studios by James Nichols
Assistant Engineer: Richie Clarke

Mastered by James Nichols at BMG Studios

Art direction and design: David Lau
Photographs by James R. Minchin, III
Studio photographs by Jimmy Katz, Giant Steps
Release coordination by Nate Herr
Liner notes by Nicholas Payton

Exclusive personal and financial management:
The Management Ark, Inc., 116 Village Blvd., Princeton, NJ 08540
Edward Arrendell, II – President
Vernon Hammond, III, CFP – Sr. Vice President

1996, PolyGram Records, Inc.

—–Test the Quality: Track 03. Wild Man Blues

—–Download the album: How to?