Nat ”King” Cole – After Midnight {Capitol} ”Analogue Productions”

Nat ”King” Cole – After Midnight {Capitol} ”Analogue Productions”

Vocal Jazz

CD, XLD rip, AccurateRip, FLAC tracks, Full Artwork

293 MB.

AllMusic Review by Ken Dryden

Once Nat King Cole gave up playing piano on a regular basis and instead focused on a series of easy listening vocal albums, jazz fans longed for him to return to his first love. These 1956 studio sessions made up Cole’s last jazz-oriented disc, where he played piano and sang on every number, joined by several guest soloists.

Cole’s vocals are impeccable and swinging, while his piano alternates between providing subdued backgrounds and light solos that don’t reveal his true potential on the instrument. Willie Smith’s smooth alto sax buoys the singer in the brisk take of “Just You, Just Me.” Harry “Sweets” Edison’s muted trumpet complements the leader in his interpretation of “Sweet Lorraine.”

Composer Juan Tizol’s valve trombone and former Cole sideman Jack Costanzo’s bongos add just the right touch to the brisk take of “Caravan.” Stuff Smith’s humorous, unusually understated violin is a nice touch in “When I Grow Too Old to Dream.” It’s hard for any Nat King Cole fan to ignore these important sessions. [The original version of this release featured a dozen tracks, later expanded to 17 in the ’80s with the discovery of some unreleased material. Yet another track, the alternate take of “You’re Looking at Me,” was also found and added to reissues beginning in the late ’90s.]

01. Just You, Just Me (3:04)
02. Sweet Lorraine (4:38)
03. Sometimes I’m Happy (4:13)
04. Caravan (2:46)
05. It’s Only a Paper Moon (3:10)
06. You’re Looking at Me (4:16)
07. Lonely One (3:49)
08. Don’t Let it Go to Your Head (3:14)
09. I Know that You Know (2:31)
10. Blame it on My Youth (4:13)
11. When I Grow Too Old to Dream (3:34)
12. Route 66 (3:50)
13. Candy (3:02)
14. What is There to Say (3:56)
15. I was a Little Too Lonely (3:37)
16. You Can Depend on Me (2:48)
17. Two Loves have I (4:12)
18. Just You, Just Me (take one) (3:04)
19. It’s Only a Paper Moon (take three) (0:51)

Nat King Cole – vocals with collective personnel.

Recorded August and September, 1956, in Hollywood
Originally released in 1957 ın Capitol Records, LLC, as W-782
Original album art, 1957 Capitol Records LLC
Liner notes by Chris Hall and Ralph J. Gleason
Mastered for SACD by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman
Mastered at AcousTech Mastering, Camarillo, California
Authored for SACD by Gus Skinas on the SONOMA system at the Super Audio Center, Boulder, Colorado

Distributed by Acoustic Sounds, Inc.
P.O. Box 1905, Salina, KS 67402-1905, Tel. (785) 825-8609

2010, EMI Music Special Markets
Additional design, 2010, Analogue Productions
EMI Music Special Markets, 1750 N. Vine Street, Hollywood, California 90028

—–Test the Quality: Track 01. Just You, Just Me

—–Download the album: How to?