Milt Hinton – Basically with Blue {Black&Blue}

Milt Hinton – Basically with Blue {Black&Blue}

Swing, Piano Trio, Bass

CD, EAC rip, AccurateRip, FLAC tracks, Front + back + cd covers

206 MB.

AllMusic Review by Ken Dryden

Milt Hinton was one of the busiest bassists in the history of recorded music and not just in the world of jazz. But Hinton led relatively few dates of his own during his long career; when he got the opportunity, he made the most of it. This 1976 session features him leading a trio with pianist Cliff Smalls and drummer Sam Woodyard (who sticks to brushes for most of the date), mixing originals and standards in equally swinging fashion.

The brisk opener features a fine solo by the leader and playful exchanges between the three men. Hinton’s take of the old spiritual “Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho” is a real swinger, not nearly as dramatic as the unaccompanied versions he became famous for later in his career. Hinton’s warm arco bass introduces a lush treatment of Duke Ellington’s “Prelude to a Kiss” before he returns to playing pizzicato.

Smalls and Hinton share the limelight in the delightful take of “How High the Moon.” Since the bassist spent so much time on the road, it isn’t surprising that he composed a bluesy tribute to his devoted wife Mona, “Mona’s Feeling Lonely,” though he doesn’t sing his lyrics on this version.
The leader showcase his formidable bass-slapping technique in the superb rendition of “(Back Home Again In) Indiana.”

This Black & Blue CD reissue of the earlier LP adds a bonus track, a brisk blues called “Walking Through the Woodyard” that features the drummer to good effect. It is odd that the label thoughtlessly omitted composer credits to the songs. Fans of one of the greatest bassists in jazz history should pick up this release immediately.

01. Look out Jack (2:27)
02. Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho (3:19)
03. Mean to Me (5:00)
04. Me and You (2:04)
05. Prelude to a Kiss (3:50)
06. Undecided (3:40)
07. How High the Moon (4:41)
08. Laughing at Life (3:45)
09. Mona is Feeling Lonely (4:49)
10. Back Home Again in Indiana (3:34)
11. Toneing Down (3:26)
12. Walking Through the Woodyard (2:49)

Milt Hinton – bass, vocal
Cliff Smalls – piano
Sam Woodyard – drums

Recorded July 17, 1976 by Gerhard Lehner at the Black & Blue Open Air Studio in Nice, France
Digitally remastered by Amaury Groc at the Cargo Studio in Paris, France
Photography by Jean-Marie Monestier (Milt Hinton) and by Jean-Pierre Tahmazian (others)
Record notes and graphic design by Jean-Michel Proust and Jean-Marc Fritz
English translation by Jeff and Patricia Kresser

Recordings originally issued on B&B 33.098. “The Definitive Black & Blue Sessions”: Collection under the direction of Jean-Michel Proust and Jean-Marc Fritz

1997, Black & Blue

—–Test the Quality: Track 09. Mona is Feeling Lonely

—–Download the album: How to?