Jacintha – Lush Life {Groove Note}_24bit96kHz

Jacintha – Lush Life {Groove Note}_24bit96kHz

Vocal Jazz

24bit/96kHz, FLAC tracks, Digital booklet

1,18 GB.

AllMusic Review by Judith Schlesinger

This is Jacintha’s third album for Groove Note, and her first with strings. Very popular in her native Singapore, she’s beginning to get a worldwide reputation, and this release demonstrates why: Her voice is lovely, with clear diction and expressive, naturalistic phrasing. She draws the listener into a warm intimacy from the first track, “The Boulevard of Broken Dreams,” a rarely covered and beautiful song with the perfect “rainy night in Paris” ambience supplied by Frank Marocco on accordion. Other highlights include a bluesy but refreshingly non-wailing “Black Coffee,” with a fine, understated solo by Bill Cunliffe on piano; he’s also good on the silky bossa “Manha de Carneval,” where Anthony Wilson’s melodic plucking contrasts nicely with the smoothness of the strings.

Another unusual but happy choice, “When We Were Young,” showcases the superb flügelhorn of Dmitri Matheny, which enhances four other tracks as well. Eight of the ten selections are ballads and, since Jacintha delivers her message straight and serene, the overall feel is quiet, sultry, and relaxing. After slooow readings of “The Shadow of Your Smile,” “Lush Life,” and “September Song,” Joe LaBarbera’s brushes and drum accents on “Harlem Nocturne” provide a welcome texture and pulse. The surprise of the CD is the startlingly original, soaring introduction to the vastly overplayed “Summertime,” where Cunliffe’s string arrangement evokes both Gershwin and modern French composers. This is excellent late-night listening; the local male vote was “mesmerizing.”

01. The Boulevard of Broken Dreams (4:55)
02. Black Coffee (6:39)
03. Summertime (6:13)
04. Lush Life (6:20)
05. Manha de Carneval (6:11)
06. The Shadow of Your Smile (5:12)
07. When We were Young (8:23)
08. September Song (5:10)
09. Harlem Nocturne (6:21)
10. Smile (2:28)

Jacintha – vocals
Bill Cunliffe – piano and string arrangements
Darek Oles – bass
Joe LaBarbera – drums
Dmitri Matheny – flugelhorn on #3, #6, #8, #9
Anthony Wilson – guitar on #1, #5, #6, #8
Frankie Marocco – accordion on #1

Peter Kent, Norm Hughes, John Wittenberg,
Gina Kronstadt, Eddie Stein, Susan Chatman

Virginia Frazier, Marium Mayer, Reneta Koven

Rudi Stein, Peggy Baldwin

Amy Shulman

Executive Producers: Ying Tan and Sebastian Koh
Produced By: Joe Harley
Engineer: Michael C. Ross at OceanWay Recording, Hollywood, CA; August 24 and 25, 2001

Assistant Engineer: Darrell Thorp
Mastering: David Glasser, Airshow Mastering using the Sony Direct Stream Digital System

Cover Photography & Outer Liner Photos: David Tan
İnner Liner Photos (And Right): Joseph D’Alessio
Design and Art Direction: James Lizardi

2001, Groove Note Records

—–Test the Quality: Track 01. The Boulevard of Broken Dreams

—–Download the album: How to?