Diana Krall – Quiet Nights {Verve}

Diana Krall – Quiet Nights {Verve}

Vocal Jazz, Bossa Nova

CD, EAC rip, AccurateRip, FLAC tracks, Full Artwork

336 MB.

AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Bossa nova is not unfamiliar to Diana Krall, but 2009’s Quiet Nights is her first record devoted to the gently swaying rhythm. Teaming up again with arranger Claus Ogerman, who last worked with Krall on 2001’s The Look of Love and who also frequently collaborated with bossa nova godfather Antonio Carlos Jobim, Krall winds up with a mellow, lazy album that recalls the relaxed late-night sophistication of Jobim’s duet album with Frank Sinatra, which Ogerman also happened to arrange and conduct.

It’s not just the sound, it’s the songs: how ’60s standards like Bacharach/David’s “Walk on By” sit next to three Jobim tunes, a song by Marcos Valle (“So Nice”), and a few American Songbook standards placed at the beginning, the better to ease listeners into purer bossa nova at the end. Then again, they don’t need much persuasion — if any music could be called accessible it’s this, with its warm intimacy and classic good taste.

If anything, there may be a bit too much classic good taste on Quiet Nights — there is no reinterpretation, only homage — but that’s not quite a problem because Krall knows enough to lay back, to never push, only to glide upon the gossamer surface. After all, some things are timeless for a reason; they need no updating, only replicating.

01. Where or When (4:10)
02. Too Marvelous for Words (4:06)
03. I’ve Grown Accustomed to His Face (4:48)
04. The Boy from Ipanema (4:55)
05. Walk on By (5:03)
06. You’re My Thrill (5:47)
07. Este Seu Olhar (2:46)
08. So Nice (3:53)
09. Quiet Nights (4:46)
10. Guess I’ll Hang My Tears Out to Dry (5:00)
11. How can You Mend a Broken Heart (bonus track) (4:31)
12. Every Time We Say Goodbye (bonus track) (5:19)

Diana Krall – vocals, piano
Anthony Wilson – guitar
John Clayton – bass
Jeff Hamilton – drums
Paulinho Da Costa – percussion

& orchestra arranged and conducted by Claus Ogerman.

Produced by Tommy LiPuma and Diana Krall
Recorded by Al Schmitt and Steve Genewick
Mixed by Al Schmitt
Arranged and conducted by Claus Ogerman
Contractor and Project Coordinator: Shari Sutcliffe
Assistant Engineers: Rick Fernandez, Dan Johnson
Recorded and Mixed at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA
Mastered by Doug Sax with Sangwook Nam
Mastered at The Mastering Lab, Ojai, CA
Tour Manager: Pete Buckland
Piano provided courtesy of Steinway and Sons
Piano tuning by Jeff Albright
Art Direction: Hollis King
Design: Philip Manning
Photography: Robert Maxwell
Beach Photo: Danie Behr
Makeup: Melanie Inglessis
Hair: Chris McMillan
Wardrobe: Joey Tierne
A&R Administration: Evelyn Morgan
Release Coordination: John Newcott, Andy Kman and Lisa Hansen

2009, The Verve Music Group, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc.

—–Test the Quality: Track 02. Too Marvelous for Words

—–Download the album: How to?