Al Cohn – Standards of Excellence + Nonpareil {Concord} ”Russian pirate CD”

Al Cohn – Standards of Excellence + Nonpareil {Concord} ”Russian pirate CD”

Bop, Cool, Tenor Saxophone

CD, EAC rip, FLAC tracks, Full Artwork

445 MB.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow, for “Standards of Excellence”;

This was tenor saxophonist Al Cohn’s last Concord recording, and despite how well he was playing during this era, he would not record as a leader again until three final efforts in 1987. Joined by a pianoless trio comprised of guitarist Herb Ellis, bassist Monty Budwig, and drummer Jimmie Smith, Cohn performs eight standards with his usual creative invention and driving swing. The biggest surprise about the repertoire is the absence of any Cohn originals or obscurities. Highlights include “Russian Lullaby,” “I Want to Be Happy,” and “When Day Is Done.”

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow, for “Nonpareil”;

Al Cohn’s debut for Concord continues where his Xanadu albums left off. On this quartet set with pianist Lou Levy, bassist Monty Budwig and drummer Jake Hanna, Cohn performs two originals and numbers by Johnny Mandel (including “El Cajon,” which was named after him), Billy Strayhorn, Antonio Carlos Jobim (“The Girl From Ipanema”), Kurt Weill and Gary McFarland; the CD reissue adds the previously unissued “Expense Account.” The tasteful and swinging music is quite enjoyable, and virtually all of Al Cohn’s many sessions through the years are recommended to collectors of straight-ahead jazz.

01. Russian Lullaby (5:08)
02. When Your Lover has Gone (4:32)
03. O Grande Amor (4:22)
04. You Say You Care (6:11)
05. I Want to Be Happy (4:14)
06. Embraceable You (4:52)
07. I Remember You (5:44)
08. When Day is Done (6:03)
09. Take Four (4:28)
10. Unless it’s You (4:46)
11. El Cajon (4:34)
12. Raincheck (4:01)
13. Mr. George (4:25)
14. The Girl from Ipanema (4:11)
15. This is New (4:37)
16. Blue Hodge (5:54)

Al Cohn – tenor saxophone
Herb Ellis – guitar
Lou Levy – piano
Monty Budwig – bass
Jimmie Smith, Jake Hanna – drums

“Nonpareil” recorded on April, 1981, at United-Western Studios, Hollywood, CA
“Standards of Excellence” recorded on November, 1983, at Ocean Way Recording, Hollywood, CA

—–Test the Quality: Track 01. Russian Lullaby

—–Download the album: How to?